More than 700 artists, managers, producers and companies from across the UK music industry have issued an urgent rallying call for unity against division and hatred. 

Prompted by too many examples of racism and intolerance - most recently the racist responses to BLM and sustained antisemitic outbursts - the open letter urges everyone in the industry to speak out and eradicate racism. 

The statement comes following a series of events and incidents from anti-black racists and antisemites, as well as from those who advocate islamophobia, xenophobia, homophobia and transphobia. 

The letter acknowledges that minorities have suffered and have painful collective memories. It goes on to identify that all forms of racism have the same roots – ignorance, lack of education and scapegoating. 

The statement includes the following call to action: “We, the British music industry are proudly uniting to amplify our voices, to take responsibility, to speak out and stand together in solidarity. Silence is not an option.”

The signatories include artists The 1975, Nile Rodgers, MNEK, Rita Ora, Clean Bandit, Labrinth, Little Mix, Ashnikko, NAO, Years & Years, Jess Glynne, Jonas Blue, Niall Horan, Lily Allen, James Blunt, Naughty Boy, Grace Carter, Yungblud and Joy Crookes.

Other notable people and organisations who have added their name include Kanya King CBE (MOBO Award Founder), Grace Ladoja MBE (manager), Grace Carter, Paul Epworth (Producer), Amber Davis (music executive), Wayne Hector (Songwriter), Kamille (Songwriter), Adele Roberts (Broadcaster- BBC Radio 1), Sam Roman (Songwriter), Tim Blacksmith (Executive), Danny D (Executive), Dumi Oburota (Executive- owner Disturbing London), Guy Moot (Co-Chair/ CEO Warner Chappell Publishing), Jackie Davidson (Manager), Jamz Supernova (Broadcaster- BBC Radio 1 Xtra), Markell Casey (Publisher), Louis Bloom (President of Island Records), David Ventura (CO-MD Sony ATV UK), Nick Raphael (President, Capitol Records UK), Phil Christie (President, Warner Records UK),  Michael Adex (Manager- Aitch), Rebecca Allen (President of EMI Music), Tiffany Calver (Broadcaster- BBC Radio 1/ 1xtra), Emma Banks (CAA), Joe Gossa (Executive- Black Butter), Matt Bates (Primary Talent), Jamie Oborne (Manager- The 1975), Stuart Camp (Manager- Ed Sheeran), Keith Harris OBE (Manager - Stevie Wonder), Roberto Neri (EVP, Downtown Music Holdings/Chairman of MPA), Tony Harlow (Warner Music UK Chairman & CEO), Merck Mercuriadis (Executive),  Isabel Garvey (Abbey Road Studios), Universal Music UK, Warner Music UK, Sony Music UK, BPI, Ivors Academy, MMF (Music Managers Forum) and UK Music

See the letter and signatories in full here.