UK record labels association, the BPI, today gives notice that eight candidates have put their names forward for election as Independent representatives to BPI Council – the BPI’s key management and policy forum.

Two of the six places on BPI Council designated for Independent representation will become vacant later this month, following the automatic retirement by rotation of the two longest-standing members, who are Iain McNay (Cherry Red Records) and A;ice Dyson (One Media IP). Under BPI’s rules, those retiring by rotation are entitled to re-stand for election.

Voting opens online on Tuesday 9th November and will close on midday Tuesday 23rd November. All full BPI members are each eligible to vote for up to two candidates. The results will be announced at a BPI Independent member Meeting on the 24th November 2021.

Details and video manifestos for each of the candidates are available for BPI members to view on the Members’ section of the BPI website here.

The eight candidates are:

  • Alice Dyson - One Media IP
  • Dan Waite - Better Noise Music
  • Jon Bosaen - Regent Street Records
  • Karl Nielson - Dustheads
  • Mark Lee - Nub Music
  • Ramin Bostan - Ostereo
  • Sharon Brooks - BMP
  • Stefania Passamonte - Master Chord Records