Independent and major record labels association the BPI today announces Stefania Passamonte as a newly elected member on BPI Council representing independent labels and the re-election of Alice Dyson.

Stefania (Director Master Chord Records, Founder London Performing Academy of Music, and musician) said: I am delighted and honoured to be elected to represent my fellow Indie Labels at the table of the BPI Council. I will ensure their trust is well placed in my longstanding experience in the music industry, working together to make positive and productive steps through Brexit and the post-pandemic world.”

She takes over from long-serving member Iain McNay (Founder & Chairman Cherry Red Records), who recently stood down1 having been first elected in 2013.

Stefania will join Alice Dyson (Chief Operations Officer One Media IP Ltd), who has been re-elected as one of the Council’s six independent label members (alongside six major label representatives)2.  

Alice said: I’m thrilled to be able to continue working with the BPI to ensure the voices of independent music companies are heard.”

Ged Doherty, Chairman of BPI, said: “We congratulate Stefania on her election and look forward to the new perspective she will bring with her background as a musician and in music education. We also welcome back Alice and the valued contribution she makes. Along with all our other elected and co-opted members, we have a board that reflects a breadth of talent and experience drawn from many parts of UK recorded music.

“Finally I would like to place on record the BPI’s sincere thanks to Iain McNay for his many years of dedicated service on Council and his tireless championing of the independent label community.”

Notes to Editors

1 Two of the six places on BPI Council designated for Independent representation became vacant following the automatic retirement by rotation of the two longest-standing members, who were Alice Dyson (Executive Director One Media IP Ltd) and Iain McNay (Founder & Chairman Cherry Red Records). Under BPI’s rules, those retiring by rotation are entitled to re-stand for election.

Voting for the election opened online on 9 November and closed on 24 November. All full BPI independent label members were eligible to vote for up to two candidates. The results were first announced at a BPI Independent member meeting on 24 November.

2 BPI Council is the BPI’s key management and policy forum.  Chaired by BPI Chairman Ged Doherty, and including BPI Chief Executive Geoff Taylor, BPI Chief Operating Officer MJ Olaore and BPI General Counsel Kiaron Whitehead in its composition, it comprises 12 recorded music sector representatives – six drawn from major labels (two each from Sony Music Entertainment, Universal Music UK and Warner Music UK) and six from the independent sector.

Independent sector:  

Alice Dyson (COO One Media IP Ltd); Fred Jude (MD Snapper Music); Henry Semmence (MD Absolute Label Services); Nick Hartley (CEO & CFO PIAS); Pat Carr (Founder Remote Control Agency); and Stefania Passamonte (Director Master Chord Records, Founder London Performing Academy of Music, and musician).

Major labels:

Sony Music Entertainment UK – Jason Iley (Chairman & CEO), Jessica Carsen (Senior Vice President, Communications).

Universal UK – David Joseph (Chairman & CEO), Selina Webb (Executive Vice President).

Warner Music UK – Tony Harlow (Chairman & CEO), Jo Bartlett (VP, Corporate Communications).

BPI Council also comprises co-opted members as follows: Alistair Norbury (BMG President, Repertoire & Marketing for the UK); Ammo Talwar (CEO Punch Records and Chair of the UK Music Diversity Taskforce); Ayesha Hazarika (broadcaster, columnist and equalities campaigner); Char Grant ( 0207 Def Jam A&R Director); Jamie Oborne (Founder Dirty Hit and All On Red Management).

Full list of candidates Independent member election announced on 24th November 2021: Alice Dyson, Dan Waite, Jon Bosean, Karl Nielson, Mark Lee, Ramin Bostan, Sharon Brooks and Stefania Passamonte.