The BPI, the trade association for the UK’s record companies and labels and the representative voice of British recorded music, today announces that Adam Velsasco (Cherry Red Records), Becky Lees (LSO Live) and Femi Olasehinde (Just Another Label) have been elected to the BPI’s Council as representatives of the BPI’s independent member labels1.

Voting for the election opened online on 13th November 2023 and closed on 27th November 2023. All BPI independent label members were eligible to vote for up to three candidates2.

YolanDa Brown OBE DL, BPI Chair, said: “On behalf of the BPI’s Council, I am delighted to welcome Adam, Becky and Femi and congratulate them on their election. Bringing extensive experience across the independent music community, their expertise and fresh perspectives will be valuable representation of our indie members in the council’s work. I would like to extend my thanks to our outgoing Council members and to the candidates who put their names forward, making this a very strong election.“ 

Adam Velasco, Cherry Red Records said : “I am honoured to be voted onto the council and I will be doing my best to make a positive contribution to an industry I love, and have worked in for over 30 years”

Becky Lees, LSO Live said : “I’d like to thank my industry colleagues for electing me to the Council.  The BPI is pivotal in driving our industry forward, as well as supporting the talent of the future, and I look forward to using my voice to advocate for the independent label community as we navigate the challenges and exciting opportunities within our creative industries sector.“   

Femi Olasenhinde, Just Another Label said : “Wow, now there's a pleasant surprise; bring it on. It's great that the BPI’s members recognise that our industry needs representation outside the South East. I am honoured to have been elected to the council and am grateful to everybody who voted for me and have faith that I will deliver for the best interest of our industry as a whole. “ 

The BPI’s Council is the key forum for discussing and deciding on the policy and activities of the BPI3. Over 500 of the BPI’s members are independent labels, meaning that independent members are at the heart of the BPI’s work.

Notes to Editors

1 Three of the six places on BPI Council designated for Independent representation became vacant following the automatic retirement by rotation of the three longest-standing members, who were Fred Jude (Snapper Music), Henry Semmence (Absolute Label Services) and Alice Dyson (One Media IP Group). Under BPI’s rules, those retiring by rotation are entitled to re-stand for election.

2 Every BPI full member was sent a voting link directly from Civica Election Services.

3 BPI Council is the BPI’s key management and policy forum.  Chaired by BPI Chair YolanDa Brown OBE DL, and including BPI Chief Executive Dr Jo Twist OBE, BPI Chief Operating Officer MJ Olaore, BPI Chief Strategy Officer Sophie Jones, and BPI General Counsel Kiaron Whitehead in its composition, it comprises 12 recorded music sector representatives – two each drawn from Sony Music Entertainment, Universal Music UK and Warner Music UK, and six from the independent sector.

Candidates for the 2023 BPI Council Independent Representatives were:

Adam Velasco, Cherry Red Records

Becky Lees, LSO Live

Femi Olasehinde, Just Another Label

Henry Semmence, Absolute Label Services

Jon Bosaen, Regent Street Records

Mark Lee, Nub Music

Michael Neidus, Demon Music Group

Independent sector:

Par Carr (Remote Control), Nick Hartley (PIAS), Stefania Passamonte (Founder MasterChord); and three vacancies (created by Alice Dyson (Executive Director One Media IP Ltd); Fred Jude (MD Snapper Music) and Henry Semmence (Absolute Label Services) standing down.

BPI Council Election 2023 Results

Sony Music Entertainment UK – Jason Iley (Chairman & CEO) or designated representative; Jessica Carsen (Senior Vice President, Communications). Universal UK – David Joseph (Chairman & CEO) or designated representative; Selina Webb (Executive Vice President). Warner Music UK – Tony Harlow (Chairman & CEO) or designated representative; Isabel Garvey (COO WMUK).

BPI Council can also co-opt additional members.  These now include Sarah Michell (BMG Neighbouring Rights Lead); Ammo Talwar MBE (CEO Punch Records and Chair of the UK Music Diversity Taskforce); Ayesha Hazarika MBE (broadcaster, columnist and equalities campaigner); Char Grant (Executive Director at Babychild Music and Co-Founder of The Black Music Coalition); Jamie Oborne (Founder Dirty Hit and All On Red Management).